University Faculty
of Canon Law
www.iuscangreg.itCIC/1983CCEOCurrent law——  Normes outside the two Codes ——  Responses of the PCLT etc. ——  Particular Law ——  Statutes Sources of past lawJurisprudence STSAInternational TreatiesWebsitesLiteratureCanon Law BibliographySearch enginesLinklistSitemapProfessorsNostri maestri

Particular law on safeguarding

This page lists links to documents which deal with safeguarding. The main topics of these documents are: the treatment of accusations, prevention, and economic help. The page lists only documents which have a juridical nature. Not all the included documents, however, are juridically binding. The term "Guidelines" is used for documents published by Bishops’ Conferences, which become juridically binding only if they are promulgated by the respective Diocesan Bishop as a diocesan law. The term "Norms" is used for documents which are juridically binding. Documents published by a Bishops’ Conference need the "recognitio" of the Apostolic See in order to be juridically binding. Among the documents listed on this page, there is only one example of this type: the "Essential Norms" of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.

The list is not complete. It does not include (a) the documents which we have not found on the Internet and (b) documents issued for individual dioceses.



  • Argentinia
  • Brazil
    • Diocesan Bishops, Regimento (2020)   (Region West 1)
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Guatemala
  • Mexiko
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Puerto Rico
  • Uruguay
  • USA
    • Conference of Bishops, Norms (2018)




  • Austria
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
    • Conference of Bishops, Guidelines (2015)   (Službeno glasilo 6 (2015) 60-70, Croatian and Italian)
  • Bulgaria
    • Conference of Bishops, Guidelines (2016)   (in Italian)
  • Croatia
  • Czechia
  • France
  • Germany
    • Conference of Bishops, Several documents (2019)   (German, English, French, Italian)
  • Hungary
    • Conference of Bishops, Guidelines (2014)   (non divulgate pubblicamente)
  • Italy
  • Malta
    • Diocesan Bishops, Norms (2014)
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Scotland
    • Diocesan Bishops, Norms (2018)
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
    • Conference of Bishops, Guidelines (2014)   (in Italian)
  • Spain
  • Switzerland